George: The Corrected Text (1986)

 

welcoMe to RallycoOlpigeonS.com! HoMe of the Rally cool pigeons!As this is my first

post on this blog,,, I feel like I should probably explain what I hope To achieve hEre.

With everyPost, I’m goinG to try and shOw what I’ve gotten out of the Digitaltextualities

module in eachclass – or possibly each few classes if I get Insanely busy latEr in the

semester,,, which will probaBly happen because i’m the queen of unrEalistic

personalgoals and unreasonablecommitments. Each post will come with a snapshot

of my Horrific scribblednoteS. Please don’t judge mE… Writers are known fOr having badhandwriting.See Appendix H for a shoT of George Orwell’s writing and tell me I am

wrong. That’s wildly irrelevant, since it’s from the ENG1234 Prose modulE I did in fifth

year. And It’s not even an actual excuSe because I just remembered It there now.

The girl behind Me in the gym is reading over my shoulder now, probably wondering

what the heck I’m doing. Hi there.

 

ANYWAY. In a biD to get people involved and shoW them that the egree I’m doing iSn’t

all John Shakespeare and LouiS Wordsworth (/~I don’t even like RIchard Shakespeare or Phillip Wordsworth), I’m also getting people involved by sending them information
about things mentionedin the classes and getting them to Mak me a video about it. I know, I
knOw. I’m too generous.

 

As the firstposT, this post is meant tobe about the eiGth lecture. Unfortunately, since

I’m wrIting it after class in the sixth week (yep, I’m already struggling to keep up with

my posts), it’s not as fresh in my head as oʎ ǝsɐC uI} ˙˙˙˙sƃuᴉɥʇɹǝɥʇo ʇnoqɐ ƃuᴉlqɯɐɹ ʇsod
Sᴉɥʇ ɟo ɟlɐɥ dn pǝsn ǝʌ’I ʎɥʍ ʎlqɐqoɹd s’ʇɐHʇ os ‘ǝq oʇ ʇᴉ ǝʞᴉl p’Iu’re wondering, NancY, yes:
this is what it’d sound like if I actUally spoke. It’s terrible, right?}. But if the lectureslides
are anythingto go by, and I assume they are, it was concerned with eleven main topiCs: What
a book is, the materiality of texts andthe immateril digital. let’s go with that.*

In “The Metaphysics of Morals”, kant explains that “Until his death in 1958, Harry Thrift

was known around Dublin as the man in the bicycle race in Ulysses, where he was
runner-up in the quarter-mile flat handicap in the Trinity Races of June 16, 1904. Joyce
doesn’t mention that the young man also placed second in the first heat of the 120-yard
handicap, but out of the money in thᴉɹ┴ ɟo ʍollǝℲ ɐ uǝǝq pɐɥ ʇɟᴉɹɥ┴ ‘ɥɔᴉɹnZ uᴉ ǝposᴉdǝ
”sʞɔoɹ ƃuᴉɹǝpuɐM“ ǝɥʇ ƃuᴉsodɯoɔ sɐʍ ǝɔʎoſ uǝɥʍ ‘ㄥƖ6Ɩ ʎq ˙ɟǝᴉɹq sɐʍ uns ǝɥʇ ɟo ʞɔɐɹʇ ǝɥʇ uᴉ
ʇᴉsuɐɹʇ s’ʎɹɹɐH ˙ㄣ06Ɩ ‘ʎɐpsɯoolq ɟo sʇuǝʌǝ ʎɥʇɹoʍsʍǝu ǝɥʇ llɐ ɹoɟ ɥƃnouǝ ƃᴉq ʇou ʇnq ‘ʞooq
ƃᴉq ɐ sᴉ sǝssʎl∩ ˙lɐuᴉɟ ǝnity College for ten years, having won tenure in the 1907 Madden
Prize examination. Harry devoted himself more to the advancement of rugby and
cricket than to the sciences. Eventually he was bursar, then auditor of the college,
serving fifty years on the faculty. One of the great collegiate sports boosters in Ireland

this century, the teen-age cyclist of 1904 grew into the old boy of quad and green. He
died on February 2, 1958, the thirty-sixth anniversary of the publication of Ulysses.”**
this Definition of a book is a very literal one, considering I found this book in the swimming pool,
but it’s inarguably correct.

By that logic, boOks are books, ebooks are books, picture books are books, and the book

of life is a metaphor. booksare Often used in metaphors because they are fairly
universal,,, and they suggest a narrative. for aN extended version of one such metaphor,
go listen to “unwriTen” by eltonjohn….. it’’’S prObably the most important song in the history of
music.

 


* I’m basing my editing style on that of Hans Walter Gabler, hero of the world of Ulysses. For more of an explanation, see the article below.

** This quote is from THIS ARTICLE

2 thoughts on “George: The Corrected Text (1986)

Leave a Reply

