Shannon

Thursday’s post (B . an) was a reimagining of a previous post (Brian), in the style of Tom Phillips’ “A Humument”. This is an absolutely beautiful book – far more attractively created than my blog post – which I intend on recommending to anyone I know who is interested in books or art. It’s just brilliant. You can see the description from Phillips’ website below:

A Humument has been a work in progress since 1966 when artist Tom Phillips set himself a task: to find a second-hand book for threepence and alter every page by painting, collage and cut-up techniques to create an entirely new version. The book he found was an 1892 Victorian obscurity A Human Document by W.H. Mallock and Phillips transformed it into A Humument. The first version was printed by the Tetrad press in 1973, and Phillips has continued to transform it, revise it and develop it ever since.

Thankfully, while the price of this text is a little steep, it’s also available in the form of an app, which is significantly cheaper and more easily transported, but does take away the fun of a book a little bit (refer to Izzy’s video in a previous post).

    

  
I’m considering changing up the formats of my posts a little here, as I feel like creating posts like “B . an” and “ísEil” is more enjoyable and will do more to prepare me for the creation of my own projects (which I must start very soon indeed). So I will do more posts of that kind, while also making sure at least every second post is a regular blog post – just so you know I’m not ‘slacking off’!

Textual blog posts, like this one, will continue to have videos. The more creative posts, however, will either have no video or will have a video I made myself to mirror the nature of the post.

*VIDEO TO BE RELEASED*


unrelated, but here are some books about mushrooms

 

Leave a Reply

